Two new buildings to open in 2015 at Blists Hill Victorian Town

The Spry, the last remaining Lower Severn Trow, is being given a new home, which is due to open during the summer. Trows were used to transport raw materials and finished goods up and down the River Severn before the railways took over this role and are one of the unsung heroes of the Industrial Revolution. The new building will protect The Spry from the elements and contain a fascinating new exhibition about the boat, while a walkway over the deck will allow visitors to see the boat from a whole new perspective.

Spry in sail – 1908. Image by permission of Gloucester Folk Museum

Elsewhere around the Town, the transport story continues as another new building is being created to house the Museum’s replica Trevithick Engine, arguably the world’s first steam powered locomotive, along with two other historic boats, a Canal Ice Breaker and Canal Tub Boat.

For further information, contact the Ironbridge Tourist Information Centre on Tel: 01952 433 424 or visit