Turner Prize

Ten artists selected for bursaries replacing 2020 Turner Prize

Image: © Tate

Cancellation of the 2020 Turner Prize was one of the many disheartening announcements for the culture sector during lockdown. The creative way the event’s organisers reacted, however, has provided a welcome dose of optimism.

It was announced in May that for the first time since its 1984 inception there would be no Turner Prize in 2020. Instead, it was confirmed that one-off bursaries of £10,000 would be awarded to ten artists selected by the Turner Prize jury.

These successful practitioners have now been announced by Tate Britain. Arika, Liz Johnson Artur, Oreet Ashery, Shawanda Corbett, Jamie Crewe, Sean Edwards, Sidsel Meineche Hansen, Ima-Abasi Okon, Imran Perretta and Alberta Whittle are the ten recipients of bursaries.


“Following a lively and rigorous virtual debate, the jury has settled on a list of ten fantastic artists who reflect the exceptional talent found in contemporary British art,” says Alex Farquharson, director of Tate Britain and chair of the Turner Prize jury.

“These bursaries represent a vote of confidence in that work and offer some much-deserved support in challenging times. We’re extremely grateful to John Booth, Catherine Petitgas and The Ampersand Foundation who generously stepped forward at such short notice to make these bursaries possible.”

The Turner Prize is expected to return to its traditional exhibition format in 2021.