Shortlist announced for Museums + Heritage Awards 2024

The winners will be announced at a ceremony in May 2024 at Hilton Park Lane

The shortlist for the 2024 Museums + Heritage Awards is revealed today, marking a step closer to the London ceremony on Wednesday 15 May 2024.

A total of 18 winners will be crowned at the ceremony, which this year takes place at Hilton Park Lane for the first time in its 21 years, in response to an increased demand for tickets.

Full details of the shortlisted nominees can be found here.

This year’s judging panel includes three new judges. Keith Merrin, Tyne & Wear Archives & Museums (TWAM); Sally Shaw MBE, Director of Firstsite, and Deborah Smith, curator and previous director of the Arts Council Collection bring the panel to nine.

They join Maggie Appleton MBE, Chief Executive Officer of the Royal Air Force Museum; Bernard Donoghue OBE, Director of ALVA; Stephen Duncan, Director of Commercial and Tourism of Historic Environment Scotland; Caro Howell, Director General of Imperial War Museums; Dr Matthew Tanner MBE, and Sara Wajid, joint CEO of Birmingham Museums Trust.

The announcement of the shortlist means that votes are now open for the Innovator of the Year Award. One of seven shortlisted organisations will be selected to win the award by a sector-wide vote. Readers can register or login here to view the shortlistees’ videos and cast their vote here.

Advisor readers can also cast a vote for Cafe or Restaurant of the Year, from a list of shortlist of three also announced today. Register or login here to  see the shortlistees and vote.

The event’s partners are Association of Independent Museums, Arts Marketing Association, Association of Cultural Enterprises, GEM, Heritage Volunteering Group, International Council of Museums, The Institute of Conservation, Touring exhibition Group, and Visitor Experience Forum.

View the full shortlist on the Museums and Heritage Awards website.