New Chair and Deputy Chair begin roles at National Trust

Image: Wimpole Estate Parkland - National Trust Images

Sandy Nairne, formerly of the Tate and National Portrait Gallery, will serve alongside new National Trust Chair René Olivieri.

The National Trust has today announced Sandy Nairne as its new Deputy Chair, replacing Orna NiChionna Turner after seven years as Deputy and more recently Interim Chair.

Nairne joined the National Trust’s Board of Trustees April 2015 and is already an elected member of the Council.

Nairne previously served as Director of Programmes at the Tate between 1994 to 2002, and served as Director of the National Portrait Gallery from 2002 to 2015.

NT said during his time at the National Portrait Gallery, Nairne had “enhanced the creative partnership between the Gallery and the National Trust at Beningbrough Hall and Montacute House”.

More recently he has served as Chair of the Clore Leadership Programme, and is currently Chair of Maggie’s Art Group, which advises on art for Maggie’s cancer care centres. Nairne is also currently Chair of the Fabric Committee, overseeing the care and conservation of St Paul’s Cathedral.

National Trust Chair René Olivieri (left) and Deputy Chair Sandy Nairne (right) © National Trust

Nairne becomes Deputy Chair of National Trust this month at the same time new its Chair, René Olivieri, officially begins the role.

Olivieri’s appointment, first announced at the end of last year, makes him the 14th Chair of the Trust since it was established in 1895.

The new Chair and Deputy Chair will serve under National Trust President, Prince Charles and Director-General, Hilary McGrady.