Movement for Good

Museums and heritage charities scoop share of £1m fund

Image: Passengers on a train carriage at Amberley Museum & Heritage Centre

A total of sixteen heritage charities and museums have each received donations of £1,000 through the Movement for Good awards. A further ten prizes of £50,000 have now be made available.

Established by specialist insurer Ecclesiastical, the awards have this year seen 500 charities receive £1,000. 253,879 people nominated a total of 13,695 UK charitable causes to receive a grant, with the winning 500 selected at random from this number.

Now, charities are invited to apply for one of ten cash amounts worth £50,000 for their business.

North Devon's Braunton Museum & Information Centre was one of 16 organisations within the museums and heritage space to receive a £1,000 award

“We have seen an overwhelming public response to our Movement for Good awards and would like to thank every single person who took the time to nominate a good cause,” says Mark Hews, group chief executive at Ecclesiastical.

“We know that £1,000 can make a huge difference to the incredible work that charities do and we’re looking forward to seeing how this financial boost will change lives for the better.”

2020 winners

Heritage charities and museums awarded £1,000:

Amberley Museum & Heritage Centre
Arnos Vale Cemetery Trust
Braunton & District Museum
Churches Conservation Trust
Friends of Westonbirt Arboretum
Joseph Williamson Society
Manchester Victoria Baths Trust
National Emergency Services Museum
Papplewick Pumping Station Trust
Southwold Railway Trust
The Bishop’s Castle Railway Society Co Ltd
The Kent and East Sussex Railway Company Limited
The Lettering & Commemorative Arts Trust
The Roman Baths Foundation
Whitchurch Silk Mill Trust
Vagina Museum

An additional ten charities will be chosen by a panel of judges to receive £50,000 from Ecclesiastical, with the funds needing to be channelled into the advancement of education, skills, arts, culture and heritage, as well as citizenship or community development.

All applications will be assessed against four key areas of: impact and effectiveness; sustainability: innovation; and care and compassion. The ten successful entrants will discover their fates on 21st September.

Further details about the Movement for Good awards can be found here.