Museums + Heritage Awards

Entries now open for Museum + Heritage Awards: it’s back, live and with more categories

Photography: © Simon Callaghan Photography

The awards, which will return to a glittering live event after two years, celebrate the very best in museums and heritage across the globe.

The 2022 Museums + Heritage Awards today launches, with new judges and more opportunities to take home something new for the mantle.

Known as the ‘Oscars of the museums world’, the awards have previously been presented to the likes of Sir David Attenborough, and this year will include more opportunities to take a win, with two new categories added.

After two years of successful virtual ceremonies, the 2022 Museums + Heritage Awards will take place in person with a glittering, live ceremony on the evening of 11th May 2022,  headline sponsored by Charegeurs.  

The Museums + Heritage Awards are open to all museums, galleries, archives and heritage visitor attractions, organisations, charities and bodies plus their suppliers, contractors and partners.

The ceremony will include 17 categories and will this year for the first time recognise Café or Restaurant of the Year and has added the Visitor Welcome Award, which is sponsored by Tyg Tickets.

Sustainable Project of the Year (Sponsored by the National Lottery Heritage Fund), Volunteer(s) of the Year, and Fundraising Campaign of the Year are free to enter. The remaining awards are offered with an Early Bird reduced entry fee for this month only. A full list of categories is below.

Details and guidance for entering can be found on the Museums + Heritage Awards website.

The closing date for entries is 1st February 2022 (An Early Bird reduced entry fee is available this month only).

Museum + Heritage Awards Categories

NEW: Visitor Welcome Award Sponsored by Tyg Tickets
NEW: Cafe or Restaurant of the Year 
Sustainable Project of the Year Sponsored by the National Lottery Heritage Fund 
Volunteer(s) of the Year In partnership with Association of Independent Museums 
Fundraising Campaign of the Year
Permanent Exhibition of the Year Sponsored by Displayways 
Temporary or Touring Exhibition of the Year
Shop of the Year
Learning Programme of the Year
Community Engagement Programme of the Year
Marketing + Communications Strategy of the Year
Partnership of the Year Award
Best Use of Digital
Restoration or Conservation Project of the Year
Exhibition of the Year – International
Best Use of Digital – International


This year’s judges:

Diane Lees CBE
Diane Lees CBE, Chair of the 2019 judging panel, has been Director General of the Imperial War Museums since October 2008. Leading on the Museums’ international programme and cultural festival for the First World War centenary.

Sara Wajid
Sara Wajid is joint CEO of Birmingham Museums Trust, one of the UK’s largest independent museum trusts.

Bernard Donoghue
Bernard Donoghue has been the Director of ALVA since September 2011 following a career in advocacy, communications and lobbying, latterly at a senior level in the tourism and heritage sector.

Maggie Appleton MBE
Maggie Appleton MBE was appointed as Chief Executive Officer of the Royal Air Force Museum in October 2014 and took up her post on 12 January 2015.

Dr Matthew Tanner MBE
Matthew Tanner has worked in the maritime heritage sector for 20 years. He has specialised in bringing maritime heritage to life for non-maritime audiences.

Sam Mullins
Sam Mullins has been Director of the London Transport Museum since 1994, where he has overseen the development of the world’s premier museum of urban transport and the social history of transport in London past, present and future.

Caro Howell
Caro Howell is new to the judging panel for 2018 and in her role as Director of the Foundling Museum, she brings a welcome new perspective to the panel.

Stephen Duncan
Initially joining Historic Environment Scotland as Head of Commercial and Visitor Operation in 2009.

For all the details on categories, guidance on entering, and key dates for your diary, visit the Museums + Heritage Awards website.