Museums + Heritage Awards

One day left to vote in Museums + Heritage Awards special recognition categories

Voting closes tomorrow in the first two Museums + Heritage Awards categories ever to be decided by the public.

In light of the exceptional circumstances of the past year it was decided that the 2021 Museums + Heritage Awards would be unlike any other. Among a raft of changes to the tried and tested format, the event this time features two categories in which the winner will be decided by the sector at large.

Both the COVID Special Recognition and COVID Supplier of the Year gongs are open to a public vote until Friday 28th May, with more than 2,000 people having already selected their winners.

Who are your Covid heroes?

COVID Special Recognition Award

  • Bernard Donoghue, ALVA
  • Pippa Pickles, Colchester + Ipswich Museums
  • David Green, Florence Nightingale Museum
  • Victoria Ryves, Heritage Doncaster, Doncaster Council
  • Rachel Mackay’s Recovery Room
  • Ngaire Bushell, IWM

Vote now

COVID Supplier of the Year

  • Formed UK – COVID-safe re-opening of museums
  • The Radical Tea Towel Company – showing Solidarity
  • Decision House – visitor recovery insight for ALVA
  • Tricolor Associates – recovery support for many
  • Julius Rutherfoord & Co – COVID-safe re-opening of museums

Vote now

Despite Anna Preedy, director of the Museums + Heritage Awards, admitting to initial concern that it may have been a “struggle for entries” after the pandemic’s tribulations, she has been “overwhelmed by the breadth and quality of submissions” this year.

A record number of entries have now been whittled down to the final shortlists, and the event’s director is very excited to see who industry professionals select as their champions in the two special recognition categories.

“The achievements throughout the sector since March 2020 have been nothing short of remarkable. It’s really rewarding to see thousands of people casting their votes in support of those nominated for having gone above and beyond during this most testing of times.”

The winners of the COVID Special Recognition and COVID Supplier of the Year prizes will be revealed along with all other categories as part of a virtual ceremony at 7pm on 1st July.